Thursday, November 20, 2008

Transportation group cites people, projects, agencies

Transportation group cites people, projects, agencies
Times-Herald staff report
Posted: 11/20/2008

The Solano Transportation Authority's 11th annual award winners included Vallejo's Wilson Avenue Improvement Project, which was named Project of the Year for enhancing the quality of life in the county.

That section of Wilson Avenue, connecting Interstate 780 to Highway 37, was surrounded by a blighted neighborhood, the STA said, but has been transformed into the "gateway to Vallejo's waterfront and downtown."

Other winners:

- Solano County's Department of Environmental Management, Agency of the Year. It was cited for its work on Fairfield-Cordelia's North Connector project and its help funding the Ferry Transition Plan as Vallejo Transit ferry service was taken over by the new San Francisco Bay Area Water Emergency Transportation Authority.

- Tied for Advisory Committee Member of the year were public health representative Robin Cox and Bicycle Advisory Committee and Pedestrian Advisory Committee member Larry Mork. Both were cited for their work on the STA's Safe Routes to School program.

- Safety Project of the Year, California Highway Patrol and the state Office of Traffic Safety, which worked to increase enforcement and reduce fatal and injury accidents on Highway 12 from Interstate 80 east to Interstate 5.

- Dixon Readi-Ride coordinator Cindy Muckensturm, Transit Employee of the Year.

- Fairfield's NorthBay Health Care, Business of the Year, for encouraging employees to use alternate transportation.

- Partner of the Year, state Department of Transportation, for its work on the I-80 high occupancy vehicle lane, the first of 18 Bay Area Proposition 1B corridor improvement projects to break ground.

- The STA said Caltrans also committed to rehabilitating I-80 from Vallejo to Vacaville, and accelerated these projects by two years to be completed by the end of 2009. Caltrans also won Project Delivery of the Year for its I-80 rehabilitation and a truck climbing lane on westbound Highway 12.

- State Sen. Patricia Wiggins, who represents Vallejo, was named Elected Official of the Year for co-authoring Assembly Bill 112 and Assembly Concurrent Resolution 7 with Assemblymember Lois Wolk. These measures resulted in safety improvements to Highway 12 in Solano County.

The STA said the senator also supported funding from the Trade Corridor Improvement Fund for the Curdle truck scales and authored the clean-up bill for the transition of Baylink Ferry services to the new San Francisco Bay Area Water Emergency Transportation Authority, assuring the protection of service and assets for the city of Vallejo.

- The Special Award was shared by three people -- Solano County Board of Supervisors member John Silva, STA board member Mary Ann Courville and STA board Chairman Eddie Woodruff.